L.T.T.F – Lecrae #1

Dear Lecrae,

Thank you for being real. Most music, regardless of genre, today is very superficial. There is no meat to it. Especially “Christian” music. I love how you articulate things that most artists are scared to talk about. Confe$$sions of a millionaire is masterfully spoken. It reminds me of Ecclesiastes. It’s all meaningless. In the end you lose it all. Boasting is probably my favorite of your songs right now. It hit me when I was in a lonely place. It reminded me it is not about just me.

Another dollar in my bank account of vain pursuit.
I do not count my life as any value or precious at all.
Let me finish my race, let me answer my call. – Boasting

Bro, I almost cried.

Could go on for a while and just thank you for what you have done in your music. One day I would love to meet you and talk. But the last song I wanna “boast” about (see what I did there) is church clothes. This is a prime example of things people would not talk about in their music.

Example

No we don’t wanna see that,
Cuz that might mean a life change
That might mean I’m worth more,
The money, cars, sex and pipe dreams
Better not be no real Jesus,
Real forgiveness, for hurt folks
If God gon take me as I am
I guess I already got on my
Church clothes

So much truth. It hits me in the heart.
I just want to say thank you for what you do.
Don’t change.
Thank you for ministering to people where they are.
Keep up the epic work for Christ.
I’ll be praying for yah.

– this church member anonymous

Leave a comment